How to erase facebook account. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your information from Facebook: That information will remain even after you delete your account, so you will need to contact the recipients of you want it removed. We rely on advertising to help fund our award-winning journalism. Before you do this, you may want to download a copy of your information from Facebook: D epending on whether or not you think you might want to return, here's what you need to do:. For example, a friend may still have messages from you in their inbox. If you've had enough and want to get rid of your account, you have two options. Upgrade to Premium. Thank you for your support. I t may take up to 90 days for Facebook to delete all of the things you've posted, like your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. However, after an account has been deleted it won't be possible to reactivate your account or retrieve anything you've shared on your profile.